Late-Night Baking

The guys are asleep, I should be off to bed myself at 12:50 at night, but I can’t for at least another 20 minutes, because I’m baking.

I haven’t baked in a while–since last Friday, actually–and a friend today mentioned having made the orange-cranberry muffins from our current favorite cookbook, The Vegetarian Mother’s Cookbook.  It sounded good.  I had the munchies.  I set to work.

The recipe calls for orange juice, grated orange peel, sweetener (honey, agave nectar, maple syrup, or brown rice syrup), dried cranberries, oil, whole wheat flour, whole wheat pastry flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and ground flax seeds.

I used what I had:  orange juice, no peel, honey, frozen whole cranberries, oil, kamut flour, whole wheat pastry flour, the leftovers from this morning’s blend of hot kamut whole-grain cereal plus rice cereal plus water/rice milk/honey, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and chopped walnuts.  Oh, and extra kamut flour, because it seemed kind of wet.

How exciting!  I can’t wait to see what happens.  It was foaming in a most interesting way.

2 thoughts on “Late-Night Baking

  1. Yummy! So good. I love baking when it comes out. Oh, and the batter was addictive. I really like baking with no-egg or egg replacer recipes. Then you get to lick the bowl. 🙂

Leave a Reply

