What was that about routine?

So the Boy asks me the other day, what day is for knitting?

What day indeed? Monday is for laundry, Tuesday for vacuuming, and so on… but one day for knitting? Hmm… I told him that this was a separate list, just like breakfast foods. Breakfast foods, there is a different one each day of the week:

Monday is cereal
Tuesday is porridge
Wednesday is pancakes
Thursday is toast and yogurt
Friday is cowboy food (aka cornbread muffins–made with kamut flour, yum, and served with honey butter, yum!–and pinto beans)
Saturday is scrambled eggs
Sunday is French toast (of course)

This works like a charm to get him to eat new things. Before, he would get up and eat a bowl of cereal before I had a chance to charm him with some exotic pleasure (like pancakes) which he would then turn down. Now, even if he does have a little cereal, he considers it “a snack” and will still eat whatever I make. Bwah hah hahhhh. As long as it’s on the right day.

So, knitting. I told him that it’s a different list, and we sat down and figured it out:

Weaving on Monday
Spinning on Tuesday
Weaving on Wednesday
Knitting on Thursday
Knitting on Friday
Weaving on Saturday
Weaving/Spinning/Knitting on Sunday

The caveat, of course, is that knitting goes with me wherever we go, so that’s okay as long as I at least touch the loom or the spindle on the right day. Then he lets me do it.

The other day he asked me admonishingly, “Have you woven today?” I was spinning, and I admitted I had not. He made me stop.

2 thoughts on “What was that about routine?

  1. I still prefer to think of weaving and spinning as being movements rather than textile-related activities. When you mention weaving I see you standing unsteadily, while spinning is, you know, turning in circles. I guess when you knit, it can be your brow….

  2. That is so funny, too, because while when I spin the spindle turns in circles, I definitely do not sway. (I may rock forward and back…) Interestingly, when one “weaves”, “spins”, or “knits ones brow” in the sense mentioned, one’s body mimics the action of the tool, not the textile manufacturer–when one “weaves” her body moves back and forth, like the shuttle, not like the weaver. When one spins her body turns round and round, like the spindle, not like the person holding the thread. And of course, to knit one’s brow, her forehead crinkles to mimic the sticks and yarn, not the knitter (though knitters do knit their brows quite often).

Leave a Reply

